(This performance was originally scheduled to take place on May 16, 2021.)

Renée Fleming, soprano
Rod Gilfry, baritone
Gemma New*, conductor
Wendall K. Harrington, projection designer
LA Opera Orchestra

*LA Opera debut

Part One: The Brightness of Light
West Coast premiere
Music: Kevin Puts*
Text: excerpts from the letters of Georgia O’Keefe and Alfred Stieglitz
World premiere: July 20, 2019, at Tanglewood Music Center

Introduction (Ms. Fleming)
First Correspondence (Ms. Fleming and Mr. Gilfry)
A Soul Like Yours (Mr. Gilfry)
Ache (Ms. Fleming and Mr. Gilfry)
Georgia and Alfred (Orchestral Interlude No. 1)
Violin (Ms. Fleming)
Faraway (Mr. Gilfry)
Taos (Ms. Fleming)
The Thing You Call Holy (Ms. Fleming and Mr. Gilfry)
The High Priestess of the Desert (Orchestral Interlude No. 2)
Friends (Ms. Fleming)
Sunset (Ms. Fleming)

Part Two
"Almost Like Being in Love"
from Brigadoon (Alan Jay Lerner & Frederick Loewe)
Ms. Fleming, Mr. Gilfry

"Some Enchanted Evening"
from South Pacific (Richard Rodgers & Oscar Hammerstein II)
Mr. Gilfry

“Till There Was You”
from The Music Man (Meredith Willson)
Ms. Fleming

Overture to The Sound of Music
(Richard Rodgers & Oscar Hammerstein II)

Scenes from A Streetcar Named Desire:
"Hello, Stanley, do you mind?"
"You should just know the line"
(André Previn & Philip Littell)
Ms. Fleming, Mr. Gilfry

“The Diva”
(Andrew Lippa)
Ms. Fleming

“Joey, Joey, Joey”
from The Most Happy Fella (Frank Loesser)
Mr. Gilfry

“Winter" and "Love Alone”
from The Visit (John Kander & Fred Ebb)
Ms. Fleming

“People Will Say We're in Love”
from Oklahoma! (Richard Rodgers & Oscar Hammerstein I)
Ms. Fleming, Mr. Gilfry

Performance date and time:
Saturday, June 18, 2022, at 7:30pm 

Venue: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion (135 North Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, 90012) 

Text excerpts from the letters by Georgia O'Keeffe and Alfred Stieglitz used and reprinted by permission of the Yale Collection of American Literature, Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library. All rights reserved.

All programs, artists and dates are subject to change. 

Last updated: June 15, 2022