Digital Shorts Fact Sheet 

Commissioned projects: 

Composer:  Gabriela Lena Frank 
Project: commissioned revision of Las cinco lunas de Lorca for SATB chorus, countertenor and piano
 Nilo Cruz 
Visual Artist: Irene Rodríguez 
Filmmaker: Matthew Diamond
Performers: countertenor Jacob Ingbar, pianist Nicholas Roehler, members of the LA Opera Chorus
Premiered December 11, 2020

Composer: Missy Mazzoli 
Project: "The West is a Land of Infinite Beginnings"
Librettist: Royce Vavrek
: James Darrah 
Performers: conductor Christopher Rountree, bass Andrew Harris, International Contemporary Ensemble
Premiered January 15, 2021

Composer: Ellen Reid
Project: Lumee's Dream, inspired by an excerpt from the opera "prism"
Librettist: Roxie Perkins
Co-Director / Director of Photography
: James Darrah 
Co-Director / Editor: Adam Larsen
Performers: mezzo-soprano Rebecca Jo Loeb, viola soloist Nadia Sirota
Premiered January 29, 2021

Composer:  Tyshawn Sorey 
Project: Death, a setting of a poem by Paul Laurence Dunbar, for alto and piano
Film director: Nadia Hallgren
Performers: mezzo-soprano Amanda Lynn Bottoms, pianist Howard Watkins
Premiered February 19, 2021

Composer: Ayana Witter-Johnson 
Project: Brown Sounds, a setting of a poem by Henry Dumas
Executive producer and conceptual creator: Raehann Bryce-Davis
Filmmaker: Jérémy Adonis
Costume designer / stylist: Allan Virgo
Performers: mezzo-soprano Raehann Bryce-Davis, dancer Lateef Williams, pianist Jeanne-Minette Cilliers
Premiered March 26, 2021

Composer/librettist: David Lang 
Project: let me come in
Fillmmaker: Bill Morrison
Performers: Bryan Wagorn, conductor; Angel Blue, soprano; David Creswell, viola; Anja Wood, cello; Miles Salerni, percussion

Composer: Matthew Aucoin 
Project: settings of three poems by Jake Skeets ("Afterparty," "How to Become the Moon," "Virginity")
Performers: baritone Davóne Tines, countertenor Anthony Roth Costanzo

Composer: Tamar-kali 
Projectnew commission 
Performersmezzo-soprano Raehann Bryce-Davis, instrumentalists TBA 

Composer/librettist: Du Yun 
Project: three movements (No-Noha, Climax, Resign) from the one-act opera Zolle 
Animation Producer/Curator: Ron Diamond, Acme Filmworks 

Composer: Anna Clyne
Project: between the rooms, a setting of a collection of Emily Dickinson's "envelope poems."
Ensemble: soprano and string quartet (two violins, viola, cello, bass)

Composer: Carlos Simon
Librettist: Sandra Seaton
Project: The First Bluebird of the Morning
Choreographer: Jamar Roberts

All programs, artists and dates are subject to change.  

Last updated: March 29, 2021